Sunday, April 6, 2014

Ball State students win top design, video awards

Ball State student journalists took home 19 first-place Indiana Collegiate Press awards this weekend, including top prizes for best newspaper and magazine design and best video online.
Students from Ball Bearings magazine, its website, the Ball State Daily News and the unified student media website won a total of 59 awards.
Ball Bearings magazine won seven first-place awards, including for Best Single Issue, Best News Story, Taylor Ellis; and Best Entertainment and Sports Feature stories, Catherine Greis and Andrew Mishler.
On the Ball Bearings digital side, Neil Hausey, Mallory Jordan and Savannah Smith won for Best Video.
Hausey, Jordan, Aubrey Smith and Gina Portolese won Best Animation/Interactive Graphic.
And the award for Best Audio Slideshow went to Jordan, Smith, Portolese and Hayli Goode.
Corey Ohlenkamp, then chief photographer for the Daily News, won Best Slideshow for his work on
Ohlenkamp and Emily Theis won Best Illustration for the Daily News, which also took first place for Best Overall Design, Themed Issue, Sports Page and Picture Story, by Taylor Irby.
In the advertising competition, Elizabeth Wojdyla of the Daily News won first-place awards for Best Electronic Display Ad and Best Design of Full-Color Display Ad.  Becca Wolfley won for Best Design of Black-and-White House Ad.
Other schools in the contest included Indiana University, Purdue, Notre Dame, Butler, the University of Indianapolis, the University of Southern Indiana, DePauw, Indiana State, Indiana University-Southeast, Wabash College, Manchester College, Taylor, Goshen College, Indiana Wesleyan, Bethel College, Anderson University, IU-Purdue Fort Wayne, IU East, the University of St. Francis, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, St. Mary-of-the-Woods, Valparaiso University, Vincennes, Purdue-Calumet, IU-Purdue Indianapolis and the University of Evansville.

            Awards to Ball State students at the Indiana Collegiate Press spring conference on March 5, 2014:

Online (
Best Slideshow, Corey Ohlenkamp

Online (
Best Audio Slideshow, Hayli Goode, Mallory Jordan, Aubrey Smith and Gina Portolese
Best Video – Neil Hausey, Mallory Jordan and Savannah Smith
Best Animation/Interactive Graphic – Neil Hausey, Aubrey Smith, Mallory Jordan and Gina Portolese

Best Design of Black-and-White House Ad – Becca Wolfley
Best Design of Full-Color Display Ad – Elizabeth Wojdyla
Best Electronic Display Ad - Elizabeth Wojdyla

News Magazines
Best Single Issue – Ball Bearings
Best News Story – Taylor Ellis
Best Sports Feature Story – Andrew Mishler
Best Entertainment Story – Catherine Greis
Best Overall Design – Ball Bearings
Best Feature Photo – Kaleigh Sheahan
Best Photo Essay or Picture Story – Stephanie Tarrant, Lindsey Riley, Briee Eikenberry, Maris Schiess, Ricardo Lopez and Gina Portolese.

Newspaper Division I -- Daily News
Best Themed Issue
Best Overall Design
Best Sports Page
Best Photo Essay or Picture Story – Taylor Irby
Best Illustration – Emily Theis and Corey Ohlenkamp


No comments:

Post a Comment