Monday, March 24, 2014

"Indiana Weekend" takes two AP awards

The Indiana AP broadcasters gave Indiana Weekend, our Friday/Sunday show on Indiana Public Radio, awards for "Best Public Affairs Program" and "Best Use of Radio Sound."

The Knightstown Railroad episode that won the sound award also included, on our Facebook page, a fun little video:

Here's the AP story with all of our IPR awards....

AP-IN--IAPBA Contest-Results,956
2014 Indiana AP Broadcast Contest Results
By The Associated Press
INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- The Indiana Associated Press Broadcasters Association is announcing results for its 2013 contest. Winners of the Best Newscast and Outstanding News Operation awards for both radio and television will be announced at the awards dinner April 19, 2014, at the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, 31 W. Ohio St., Indianapolis.
   The reception will start at 6 p.m., with dinner and the awards presentation following at 7 p.m.
   Local Radio
   Best Newscast Long Form:  WBST-FM, June 7, 2013, Stan Sollars
   Best Reporter: WBST-FM, Stephanie Wiechmann
   Best Enterprise Story: WGRE-FM, "The Future of the West Central Conference," Staff
   Best Use of Radio Sound: WBST-FM, "Knightstown Railroad," John Strauss
   Best Public Affairs Program: WBST-FM, "Problem Solving Courts," John Strauss
   Second Place, WGRE-FM, "Divestment of Fossil Fuels," Keely McGrath, Elizabeth McCracken, Maddie Morris, Erin Mann
   Best Feature: WGRE-FM, "The Future of DePauw Winter Term," Grace Flickinger, Grace Hendrickson, Maggie Grady, Kara Caskey
   Best Continuous Coverage of a Single Event: WBST-FM, "Muncie Schools Consolidation," Stephanie Wiechmann

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Daily News wins 2014 Gold Crown Award

The Ball State Daily News has won a Gold Crown Award for general excellence, the highest recognition from the Collegiate Scholastic Press Association.

The Daily News was one of eight college newspaper and online news operations from across the country to win. This year 1,236 collegiate newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and online-only outlets were entered in the contest.

The entries were announced Friday March 14 at the 2014 College Media Convention in New York City.

The Daily News has won 10 Gold Crown Awards. Last year it won the Silver Crown, the second-highest CSPA award. And in 2012 it won the Gold Crown for its online operation.

CSPA is an international student press association founded in 1925 and affiliated with Columbia's Graduate School of Journalism.