Sunday, October 31, 2010

Daily News takes top design awards

The Ball State Daily News won seven national awards at this weekend’s College Media Convention, including a share of the best-of-show competition and two first-place finishes for newspaper design.

Kyle Lewis won the Page One Design of the Year Award from Associated College Press, which sponsors the convention with College Media Advisers. Becky Rother won the first place award for newspaper page design. The awards were presented Saturday at the convention in Louisville.

Elsewhere, the Daily News was among nine finalists for the top Pacemaker Award and placed in the Best-of-Show contest featuring the top 10 newspapers at the conference.

Honorable mentions went to the Daily News staff for multimedia story of the year, and to former Editor-in-Chief Vinnie Lopes for sports story of the year.

American Collegiate Press is the oldest and largest national membership organization for college student journalists. The group’s member publications include more than 20,000 students.

The Daily News earlier this year won national online awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association and the Society of Professional Journalists. Opinion writer Derek Wilson was named the best college newspaper columnist in the country by the National Society of Newspaper Columnists.

Complete list of winners:

No comments:

Post a Comment